Shhh RunDisney, Just Take My Money

You have Disney fanatics, you have running fanatics, and then there is this unique hybrid of people who are fanatical about running at Disney.

That’s right folks, there are people who pay a pretty penny to run 3, 6, 13, or even 26 miles at Disney Parks around the world. And, I am proud to be one of them.

To this date, I have run four runDisney races: The WDW Half Marathon in 2013 and 2015, and the Enchanted 10k and Princess Half Marathon in February 2015. By the end of this year, I will be adding two more races to that list, including my first race in Disneyland and my first night-time half marathon at WDW’s Wine and Dine Half. In case you were wondering, yes I am excited. Like, peeing my pants excited.

IMG_0522

I have run non-Disney races for quite a few years, and while they are all enjoyable and for good causes, Disney races remain my favorite. I am not a “natural runner”, and yes, I walk a lot during any race (hey, I paid for it, might as well get my money’s worth of that course!) One of the reasons I love runDisney events so strongly is due to the fact that there is a huge diversity among the participants – from elite runners who finish before the last corrals even begin, to first timers accomplishing a huge achievement, to marathon walkers who walk faster than the soccer moms battling Target on a Black Friday (seriously, those walkers are amazing.)

The next big race sign up is coming up fast for the Princess Half Marathon Weekend – early registration for passholders begins Tuesday the 30th at 12 PM Eastern, and normal registration begins July 14. If you have ever wanted to try an event like this, I encourage you to take the jump and do it!

Leave a comment